youth pastor fail

I am flawed. But God is not.

The pastor was calling those who he talked to last week to come forward and be available for prayer during communion. Yes, he emailed me to ask if I was willing to help, but because of the busyness of preparing for a mission trip, I forget to email him back.

So technically, I wasn’t obligated to be present to pray for others. And part of me was glad. I got to bed late the night before, there were so many things on my mind, and the last place I wanted to be was in front of the congregation, standing at attention, ready to pray with people.

Then something in me (let’s just call it the Holy Spirit) told me that I really should go. So after an internal struggle, I handed James over to his mother and reluctantly walked up with the rest of the “prayers.”

I stood there, doubtful that anyone would come to me for prayer.

Youth Pastor FailAnd then I saw him – the student who has been struggling with his faith, unsure of where he stands with God – walking toward me. Let me just say this: I’m so glad that I’m not God because I would fail. Miserably.

This student, who has such an authentic heart for trying to seek God, who has been struggling with what it means to be a Christ-follower, who doesn’t really know where he stands, proceeded to give his life back to God, rededicating himself to following Christ.

Wow. Again, I’m so glad that I’m not God, and that God is God. And I can’t believe that he would let a reluctant, avoiding, sinful person like me partner with Him in His mission. Of course, this student would probably have made the same decision if I was still in my pew, wallowing in my bad attitude. But I’m glad that God was able to use me, imperfect as I am, for His purposes.

What an amazing God!

3 thoughts on “youth pastor fail

  1. Pingback: i’m tired | Timothy J Gardner

Leave a Reply

