moving day

We’re moving today.

It’s hard to concentrate on work right now.  I blame the adrenaline from closing on our very first house this morning, looking forward to moving our stuff into it tonight, and the two cups of caffeinated coffee I consumed so far today (both Emily and I weened ourselves off of caffeine… oops).

House Sold

Some thoughts while sorting through my excitement:

I’m excited for this next phase of life: homeownership.  Mowing the lawn, painting the walls, installing new floors, cleaning, gardening, mending… There’s a lot to do, and, at least at the moment with caffeine coursing through my veins, I feel up to the challenge.

I’m excited to continue growing as a family (we’re not pregnant).  Deepening friendships, growing more in love with Emily, adding a dog into the mix… Life is not going to be the same, and I am looking forward to seeing what God has for us.

I’m excited to live out Joshua 24:15 – “As for me and my house, we will serve the LORD” (ESV).  God is not an add-on, something we tack on to the busyness of life or process of setting up our home.  God serves as the foundation to life.  With this new house, as with the apartment we have had, I want Emily and I to see that God is first, that it is God that we serve, not the house or the desire to make this house our home.

Got to go – about to make this move happen!

2 thoughts on “moving day

  1. Pingback: i’m back! | Timothy J Gardner

Leave a Reply

